Week of Dec. 22: THE SCOOP B&B DAYS GH Y&R      
Directors Guild of America Awards Archive

DGA Welcome to Soap Opera Central's Directors Guild of America Awards Archive. Within this section, you can review every soap opera-related winner in each of the DGA's awards ceremonies.

Here are some interesting DGA facts and explanations to help guide you through this section.

In 1948, George Marshall, the President of the Screen Directors Guild (which became the Directors Guild of America, Inc. in 1960) announced to its senior members that the Guild would begin an Awards program to honor directors for their directorial achievement.

Though the DGA awards started in 1948, it wasn't until 1991 that daytime serials received their own category within the awards.

By the Numbers

Here's a list of the total wins for each soap.

General Hospital - 3 wins
[1995, 1997, 2001]

One Life to Live - 3 wins
[1993, 1998, 2000]

The Bold and the Beautiful - 2 wins
[1991, 1994]

Another World - 1 win

Days of our Lives - 1 win

The Young and the Restless - 1 win

Select the year you'd like to review from the following list.

More Awards: Check out the winners of other awards.
More News: Return to the FrontPage.
From Our Partners