37th Annual NAACP Image Awards Winners
Posted Monday, February 27, 2006 2:56:01 PM

The NAACP has announced the winners in the 37th Annual Image Awards. The NAACP Image Awards celebrates the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color in literature, television, motion pictures and recording arts. As expected, CBS's The Young and the Restless was again the big winner among daytime drama series.

With most soaps lacking in diversity, the Image Awards do not feature nominations for Outstanding Daytime Drama Series. Instead, the awards focus on individual performers within the shows.

This year's Outstanding Actress nominees are identical to last year. Meanwhile, just one nominee has changed among this year's Outstanding Actor nominees.

The Young and the Restless has routinely dominated the Image Awards. The wins seemingly solidify Y&R's claims that its show features the most prominent African-American cast in daytime television. Actor Shemar Moore (ex-Malcolm, Y&R) was a winner for his work on The Young and the Restless for five consecutive years.

Meanwhile, Passions star Tracey Ross (Eve Russell) continues to rack up Image Award nominations. Ross has earned a nomination for her work on the NBC series seventh years in a row..

Here is the complete listing of winners and nominees for this year's NAACP Image Awards. Winners are denoted with a bullet (•)

Outstanding Actor in a Daytime Drama Series

Michael B. Jordan (Reggie Montgomery, All My Children)
Bryton McClure (Devon Hamilton, The Young and the Restless)
Shemar Moore (Malcolm Winters, The Young and the Restless)
Antonio Sabato Jr. (Dante Damiano, The Bold and the Beautiful)
Kristoff St. John (Neil Winters, The Young and the Restless)

Outstanding Actress in a Daytime Drama Series

Marla Gibbs (Aunt Irma, Passions)
Christel Khalil (Lily Winters, The Young and the Restless)
Tracey Ross (Eve Russell, Passions)
Victoria Rowell (Drucilla Winters, The Young and the Restless)
Tonya Lee Williams (Olivia Winters, The Young and the Restless)

The 37th NAACP Image Awards were taped February 25th at the Shrine Auditorium and will be broadcast on Friday, March 3rd (8:00 10:00 p.m. ET/PT) on FOX.

Share this story with friends, family or the world.

PRINTABLE VERSION View a printer friendly version of this article

Related Information
© 1995-2018 Soap Central, LLC Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top
Soap Central
Daily Recaps
Two twoscoopss Commentary
Message Boards
Cast and Credits
Who's Who Character Profiles
Daytime Emmys
Kroll Call
All My Children
Another World
As the World Turns
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of our Lives
General Hospital
Guiding Light
One Life to Live
Port Charles
Sunset Beach
The Young and the Restless
About Soap Central
Contact Us