$special_01="/emmys/news/2010/0627-emmy.inc"; ?> 2010 Daytime Emmy nominations | Soap Central on Soap Central
Just one of last year's Emmy winners nominated this year
Posted Wednesday, May 12, 2010 10:17:07 AM
Vertical SOAP CENTRAL Soap Banner
2010 Daytime Emmy nominations
THE nominations for the 37th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmys have been announced. Get the complete scoop in Soap Central's comprehensive Emmy coverage.

To skip ahead to the list of nominees, click here.

Supporting Actor and Actress

The chances of having a first-time winner in the Supporting Actor and Actress fields are very good. In fact, of the ten nominees -- just one is a previous Emmy winner.

General Hospital's Jonathan Jackson (Lucky Spencer, GH) received his first Supporting Actor nomination. It marks his seventh overall nomination. He received a string of six consecutive Younger Actor nods from 1995 to 2000. Of those nominations, Jackson converted three to Emmy wins.

Jackson's co-star, Bradford Anderson (Damian Spinelli, GH) earned his second straight Supporting Actor nomination. Meanwhile, Brian Kerwin (Charlie Banks, OLTL) picked up his second nomination in three years.

Though he's appeared on four different soaps in his 20-year career on daytime, Ricky Paull Goldin (Jake Martin, AMC) has never won a Daytime Emmy. Goldin earned his first nomination for his work on All My Children. He was nominated as Outstanding Lead Actor in 2003 and 2007 for his work on Guiding Light.

Billy J. Miller (Billy Abbott, Y&R) also received his first Emmy nomination. In 2008, Miller was pre-nominated for his work as All My Children's Richie Novak.

Last year, there was a tie in this category. Of those winners, Jeff Branson (Shayne Lewis, GL) did not receive a nomination this year, and Vincent Irizarry (David Hayward, AMC) was pre-nominated in the Lead Actor category, but did not receive a nomination.

Two of last year's Outstanding Supporting Actress nominees make return appearances to the ballot this year. Julie Pinson (Janet Ciccone, ATWT) and Bree Williamson (Jessica Buchanan, OLTL) share more than just back-to-back nominations in common. Last year also marked the first-ever nomination for both actresses.

The remaining three actresses on the ballot -- all of whom have numerous pre-nominations -- are all first-time nominees.

Carolyn Hennesy (Diane Miller, GH) is not on contract with General Hospital, but that hasn't prevented her from catching the attention of her colleagues. Hennesy has been pre-nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actress for the past three years. To read Carolyn's reaction to her nomination, please read our Reaction to Daytime Emmy Nominations section.

Like Hennesy, Guiding Light's Beth Chamberlin (Beth Raines, GL) was also not on contract status with the show last year. Chamberlin made her debut on Guiding Light in 1989. She was pre-nominated in this category in 2007 and 2009.

Days of our Lives' Arianne Zucker (Nicole Walker, DAYS) earned pre-nominations in 2003, 2006, and 2009. She made her first appearance on DAYS in 1998.

Overlooked for a nomination is the legendary Betty White (ex-Ann Douglas, B&B). White, who has been the toast of the town in recent months, seemed a shoo-in for her dramatic work on The Bold and the Beautiful. With some expecting her nomination, there had even been a movement to have White host the Daytime Emmys. White's work is, however, featured prominently in B&B's Outstanding Drama Series submission.

Last year's winner, Tamara Braun (Ava Vitali, DAYS), is not currently appearing on daytime.

Younger Actor and Actress

Four of the five young men nominated for Outstanding Younger Actor are first-time nominees, of whom three were in their first year of Emmy eligibility. In another strange factoid, three of the nominees are no longer a part of the show for which they were nominated.

Scott Clifton (Schuyler Joplin, OLTL) is the only nominee to have received a previous nomination. He received nominations in this category in 2004, 2005, and 2006 for his work as Dillon Quartermaine on General Hospital. Clifton exited One Life to Live earlier this year.

Drew Tyler Bell (Thomas Forrester, B&B) has been a member of The Bold and the Beautiful cast since 2004. He was pre-nominated in this category in 2005 and 2006. This marks his first nomination.

Zack Conroy (James Spaulding, GL), Drew Garrett (Michael Corinthos, GH), and Dylan Patton (Will Horton, DAYS) all earned their first nods in their first figurative at-bats.

Patton joined Days of our Lives in 2009 and Conroy made his first appearance on Guiding Light just a few months before the show went off the air. Conroy now appears as Oliver Jones on The Bold and the Beautiful.

Fan-favorite Drew Garrett (Michael Corinthos, GH) also earned a nomination in his first year of eligibility. The nomination may, however, come as small consolation to fans. Garrett was released from General Hospital earlier this year and the role of Michael was recast.

Two Days of our Lives stars received their first nominations this year. Molly Burnett (Melanie Layton, DAYS) and Shelley Hennig (Stephanie Johnson, DAYS) both earned their first-ever Daytime Emmy nominations. This marks the third consecutive year that Days of our Lives has received at least one nomination in this category.

Marnie Schulenburg (Alison Stewart, ATWT) scored her first Emmy nomination this year. She joined As the World Turns in 2007.

Christel Khalil (Lily Winters, Y&R) is back on the ballot after a four-year absence. Khalil has received Young Actress nominations in 2004 and 2006. Despite her absence on the ballot, Khalil has been pre-nominated in this category every year since 2004.

General Hospital's Julie Berman (Lulu Spencer, GH) was the winner in this category last year. She is once again nominated. She also received a nomination in 2007.

Emmy Roundup

Legendary soap writer and creator Agnes Nixon will receive this year's Lifetime Achievement Award.

It seems that with each year, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences finds a new segment of the daytime community to honor. This year's new addition to the Emmy ballot is the Outstanding Stunt Coordination category. In its premiere appearance on the ballot, four soaps -- As the World Turns, The Bold and the Beautiful, General Hospital, and One Life to Live -- were joined by one non-soap program, the CW's Dragon Knight.

The Bold and the Beautiful and All My Children were the only two soaps to sweep the so-called "big three" categories: Outstanding Writing Team, Directing Team, and Drama Series. General Hospital received Drama Series and Directing nominations, while The Young and the Restless earned Writing and Drama Series nods. Days of our Lives, which last year received its first Outstanding Drama Series nomination in a decade, was the only soap to not receive a nomination in one of the "big three" categories.

This year's Daytime Entertainment Emmys will again be held at the Las Vegas Hilton in Las Vegas, Nevada on Sunday, June 27, 2009. The ceremony will air live on CBS at 9:00 p.m.





Share this story with friends, family or the world.

SEND TO A FRIEND Email this article to a friend.
PRINTABLE VERSION View a printer friendly version of this article

Related Information
© 1995-2021 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top