Howarth's Dankies Dominance

Posted Sunday, February 03, 2002 4:46:12 PM
Howarth's Dankies Dominance

CLICK HERE to skip over the commentary and analysis of the nominations and vote directly on the 'all soaps' final ballot.

The winners of Dankies in each of the ten soap opera sections have now been announced. To find out what happened in other soap balloting, click on the links below. And don't forget to cast your vote in the "All Soaps" edition of the Dankies!

All My Children
As The World Turns
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of our Lives
General Hospital
Guiding Light
One Life to Live
Port Charles
The Young and the Restless

When Roger Howarth (Todd Manning) is nominated for a category in One Life to Live's edition of the Soap Opera Central awards, it's a pretty safe bet that he'll emerge victorious - and win by a big margin.

Howarth earned four nominations this year - equaling his tally from last year. And like last year, Howarth capitalized on three of those nominations. For the second straight year, Howarth was named Outstanding Lead Actor. It's a category in which Howarth never trailed. During the first week of balloting, Howarth had amassed about 90% of the total vote. Though the percentage of vote Howarth captured dropped during voting - he still grabbed an astounding 83% of the vote - Howarth scored an easy victory.

Howarth's alter ego, Todd Manning, was likewise victorious in the Favorite Character category - again the second straight win for Howarth. This time out, Howarth's margin of victory was larger than last year. Howarth was also named Outstanding Overall Performer, with just over two-fifths of the total vote.

The only category in which Howarth was nominated and not the eventual winner was, like last year, the Most Attractive Actor. In more "repeat" news, the four nominees in this category were also nominated last year. Ty Treadway (Troy McIver) emerged as the winner for a second straight year, even though he's playing a different character than he did last year. Howarth finished in a second place tie with David Fumero (Cristian Vega). Also nominated in the category was Kamar de los Reyes (Antonio Vega).

Hillary B. Smith was one of last year's big winners, but the actress came up empty in this year's outing. Many fans voiced their displeasure with the actress' storyline throughout the year and that might have played into the voting.

Kassie DePaiva (Blair Cramer) picked up a pair of awards. With Smith dropping in the polling, DePaiva picked up the nod in the Outstanding Lead Actress field. DePaiva was also named Most Attractive Actress. The two wins were DePaiva's first Dankies victories.

Erin Torpey (Jessica Buchanan) earned a win in the Outstanding Supporting Actress category while the "real" Jessica Buchanan, Melissa Archer (Natalie Balsom) scored a win as the show's Outstanding Newcomer. The storyline in which Jessica learned that she was switched at birth was named Favorite Storyline by voters. The plot had also been nominated as the Least Favorite Storyline, but that "honor" went to the storyline in which Gabrielle plotted back-and-forth with Asa and Max.

Voter turnout was up substantially this year. Just about 2.5 times as many voters turned out for voting this year compared to last year.


Related Information


© 1995-2024 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top