Sean Kanan's Studio City earns 12 Indie Series Awards nominations; full nomination list heavy with soap stars

Posted Friday, January 31, 2020 12:18:23 PM

The 11th Annual Indie Series Awards nominations include a whopping number of daytime stars, including Sean Kanan (ex-A.J. Quartermaine, General Hospital; ex-Deacon Sharpe, The Bold and the Beautiful/The Young and the Restless) for his Amazon series Studio City.

The 11th Annual Indie Series Awards nominations were revealed this week, and congratulations are in order for a large number of soap opera stars.

The ISAs, which celebrate the best in independently produced and scripted entertainment made for the web, have 28 different categories. The Amazon Prime series Studio City, created by Sean Kanan (ex-A.J. Quartermaine, General Hospital; ex-Deacon Sharpe, The Bold and the Beautiful/The Young and the Restless), earned a whopping twelve nominations, including Best Drama Series, Best Directing, Best Writing, and several acting nods, including Kanan for Best Lead Actor Drama. (To read more about Studio City, read Soap Central's article on the series here.)

In addition to Kanan, this year's ISA Lead Actor Drama category includes Kevin Spirtas (ex-Craig Wesley, Days of our Lives) for After Forever. The Lead Actress Drama category includes Sarah Joy Brown (ex-Carly Corinthos, GH) for Studio City, while the Lead Actress Comedy category includes Kate Linder (Esther Valentine, The Young and the Restless) for Donna On The Go. Meanwhile, the Lead Actor Comedy category includes Alex Wyse (ex-Saul Feinberg, B&B) for Indoor Boys.

Two daytime stars received Supporting Actor Drama nominations: Matthew Ashford (Jack Deveraux, DAYS) for The Bay and Tristan Rogers (Robert Scorpio, GH) for Studio City. Supporting Actress Drama nominees include Patrika Darbo (ex-Nancy Wesley, DAYS) and Carolyn Hennesy (Diane Miller, GH) for Studio City, and Jackie Zeman (Bobbie Spencer, GH) for Misguided.

The Guest Actor Drama category boasts Sean Blakemore (ex-Shawn Butler, GH) and A Martinez (ex-Eduardo Hernandez, DAYS; ex-Roy DiLucca, GH) for their roles on The Bay, and Scott Turner Schofield (ex-Nick, B&B) for Studio City. Meanwhile, Cynthia Watros (Nina Clay, GH) earned a nod in the Guest Actress Category for Misguided.

In all, there are 33 nominated series from around the globe. Crystal trophies will be presented to the winners during a gala ceremony on Wednesday, April 1, at the Colony Theatre in Burbank, California. The two-day celebration includes a launch party, red carpet reception, press walk, presentation ceremony, and official afterparty.

For the full list of this year's ISA nominees, click here.

What do you think about this year's list of ISA nominees? We want to hear from you -- and there are many ways you can share your thoughts.

Post a Comment Share on Facebook Tweet this Submit Feedback
Related Information


Kimberlin Brown's daughter, Alexes Pelzer, returning to B&B
© 1995-2022 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top