The Young and the Restless writing team wins Writers Guild Award

Posted Sunday, February 2, 2020 01:10:10 AM
Vertical SOAP CENTRAL Soap Banner

Young, restless, and winners. The writing team for The Young and the Restless took home gold in the Writers Guild Awards daytime category.

Awards seasons is upon us, and congratulations are in order for the writing team of The Young and the Restless. The CBS soap's scribes put an end to General Hospital's win streak. The ABC soap had taken home the trophy in each of the five previous years.

The members of Y&R's writing team honored by the WGA are Amanda L. Beall, Jeff Beldner, Sara Bibel, Matt Clifford, Annie Compton, Christopher Dunn, Sara Endsley, Janice Ferri Esser, Mellinda Hensley, Lynn Martin, Anne Schoettle, Natalie Minardi Slater, and Teresa Zimmerman.

The WGA nominations are based on votes cast by 15,000 WGA members, with this year's nominations pertaining to shows that fell within the 2019 calendar year.

Also nominated this year were the writing teams of Days of our Lives and General Hospital. The Bold and the Beautiful did not receive a nomination.

The big winner at last year's Daytime Emmys, After Forever, which was written by Michael Slade and Days of our Lives alum Kevin Spirtas, was nominated in the Original Short Form New Media category. Netflix's Special took home the win in that category.

Primetime winners included Succession, Barry, and Watchmen.

The 72nd annual WGA Awards took place Saturday, February 1. Awards were handed out in coinciding ceremonies in Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton and in New York at the Edison Ballroom. For a full list of 2020 WGA winners, click here.

Would you like to congratulate the members of the Y&R writing team on their win? We want to hear from you -- and there are many ways you can share your thoughts.

Post a Comment Share on Facebook Tweet this Submit Feedback
Related Information


© 1995-2022 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top